Art et culture Biking Heritage Piste cyclable

Soulanges cycling path: the season is off to a good start!

Soulanges cycling path: the season is off to a good start!

bannières exposition photo piste cyclable soulanges

New photographic exhibition on the Soulanges cycling path.

May 3, 2021

Soulanges cycling path: the season is off to a good start!

The arrival of May also marks the start of the cycling season on the Soulanges cycling path. For this occasion, the cycle path is getting a makeover and presents a brand new photographic exhibition.

 

A brand new citizen exhibition on the banners of the cycling path

Launched in 2020, the Soulanges cycling path banner renewal project has taken a new step with the recent installation of new exposition. The banners extend from the entrance to the bike path in Pointe-des-Cascades to Saint-Zotique, at the rate of one banner per kilometer, for a total of 54 photographic works presented. This project is supported by Développement Vaudreuil-Soulanges and the Conseil des arts et de la culture de Vaudreuil-Soulanges, in collaboration with the Soulanges cycling path committee and that it is funded by the MRC de Vaudreuil-Soulanges and the Quebec Ministry of Culture and Communications. The project allowed 11 residents of Vaudreuil-Soulanges to share their vision of our region, while refining their photographic and artistic technique. They benefited from the professional support of artist curator Caroline Hayeur.

 

In the coming weeks, the partners will unveil exhibition panels, presenting the photographers as well as the complete collection of photos, in Pointe-des-Cascades. A sign summarizing the project will also be installed in Rivière-Beaudette.

 

The partners wish to congratulate the participants Samuel Angers, Caroline Campeau, Philippe Chevalier, Patricia Chousa, Caroline Forget, Claire Gervais, Alain Lajoie, Valérie Langlais, Nancy Lépine, Natacha Marleau and Stéphanie Toulouse for their contribution to this citizen project.

 

Sanitary facilities

Since the official opening on May 1st the sanitary facilities (toilets) of Pointe-des-Cascades, Les Cèdres, Coteau-du-Lac, Les Coteaux, Saint-Zotique and Rivière-Beaudette have been open seven days a week and cleaned on on a daily basis. Get informed before you go to the path, as the situation may change at any time.

 

The current health situation imposes strict standards on the path, including physical distancing, wearing a mask when required and abstinence from attendance if you have symptoms. For a reminder concerning the health standards in force, citizens can consult the following website: https://www.loisir.qc.ca/assets/Uploads/Nouvelles/20-085-140-13_COVID19-PaliersAlerte_mesuresLS-9avril2021_16h15.pdf

 

Asphalt work in progress

The spring paving work should be completed in the week of May 3, 2021. Emergency interventions can take place at any time during the season. The Soulanges Cycling Path Committee invites cyclists to respect the signs.

 

Photo credit: Olivier Langevin. Banner by Samuel Angers.

 

Write A Comment

Art et culture Patrimoine Piste cyclable Vélo

Piste cyclable Soulanges : la saison commence en beauté!

Piste cyclable Soulanges : la saison commence en beauté!

 

Le 3 mai 2021

Piste cyclable Soulanges : la saison commence en beauté!

L’arrivée du mois de mai, c’est aussi le début de la saison du vélo sur la piste cyclable Soulanges. Pour cette occasion, la piste cyclable se refait une beauté et présente une toute nouvelle exposition photographique.

 

Une toute nouvelle exposition citoyenne sur les bannières de la piste cyclable

Lancé en 2020, le projet de renouvellement des bannières de la piste cyclable Soulanges a franchi une nouvelle étape avec l’installation récente des nouvelles œuvres. Les bannières s’étendent de l’entrée de la piste cyclable à Pointe-des-Cascades jusqu’à Saint-Zotique, à raison d’une bannière par kilomètre, pour un total de 54 œuvres photographiques présentées. Rappelons que ce projet est porté par Développement Vaudreuil-Soulanges et le Conseil des arts et de la culture de Vaudreuil-Soulanges, en collaboration avec le comité de la piste cyclable Soulanges et qu’il est financé par la MRC de Vaudreuil-Soulanges et le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec. Le projet a permis à 11 citoyennes et citoyens de Vaudreuil-Soulanges de partager leur vision de notre région, tout en peaufinant leur technique photographique et artistique. Ceux-ci ont bénéficié de l’accompagnement professionnel de l’artiste commissaire Caroline Hayeur.

 

Dans les prochaines semaines, les partenaires procéderont à l’inauguration de panneaux d’exposition, présentant les photographes ainsi que la collection complète de photos, à Pointe-des-Cascades. Un panneau résumant le projet sera également installé à Rivière-Beaudette.

 

Les partenaires souhaitent féliciter les participantes et participants Samuel Angers, Caroline Campeau, Philippe Chevalier, Patricia Chousa, Caroline Forget, Claire Gervais, Alain Lajoie, Valérie Langlais, Nancy Lépine, Natacha Marleau et Stéphanie Toulouse pour leur contribution à ce projet citoyen.

 

Installations sanitaires 

Depuis l’ouverture officielle du 1er mai, les installations sanitaires (toilettes) de Pointe-des-Cascades, Les Cèdres, Coteau-du-Lac, Les Coteaux, Saint-Zotique et Rivière-Beaudette sont ouvertes sept jours sur sept et nettoyées sur une base quotidienne. Renseignez-vous avant de vous présenter sur la piste puisque la situation peut changer en tout temps.

 

La situation sanitaire actuelle impose des normes strictes sur la piste, entre autres la distanciation physique, le port du masque lorsque requis et l’abstinence de fréquentation en cas de symptôme. Pour un rappel concernant les normes sanitaires en vigueur, les citoyens et citoyennes peuvent consulter le site internet suivant :  https://www.loisir.qc.ca/assets/Uploads/Nouvelles/20-085-140-13_COVID19-PaliersAlerte_mesuresLS-9avril2021_16h15.pdf

 

Travaux d’asphaltage en cours

Les travaux printaniers d’asphaltage devraient se terminer dans la semaine du 3 mai 2021. Des interventions d’urgence peuvent avoir lieu en tout temps au courant de la saison. Le Comité piste cyclable Soulanges invite les cyclistes à respecter la signalisation.

 

Crédit photo : Olivier Langevin. Bannière par Samuel Angers.